Eau de How Much?

I like luxury smellies as much as the next person and like to treat myself to these things as often as I can afford to.

My weakness is expensive perfumes and even though I have the confidence to be seen in public without having first applied a full face of slap, spraying perfume is something that I never forget.

Of course, loving expensive perfumes has a major downside and that is how much they cost, so I now buy the majority of them on eBay where I can get them for considerably less money than in the shops.  Especially as the Chanel one I like costs nearly £100 for the largest size bottle!

The four I like the best are:

  • Banana Republic Classic (the cheapest of the four)
  • Chanel No 5 Premiere
  • Christian Dior Escale a Portofino
  • Jo Malone Grapefruit with overlay spray of Lime Basil and Mandarin

Now, forking out for perfumes now and again is all very well and it’s my choice to do so, but I (have had to) draw the line at the extras that go with.

For example, as a special treat, I used to buy the Jo Malone Grapefruit shower gel as that is really gorgeous and it used to retail at about £18.  So, of course I would use it sparingly and really only for special occasions.  Well!  Imagine my surprise when I went to treat myself to another bottle a while back to discover that it now costs £30!

Thirty quid for a fucking bottle of shower gel??  ARE YOU SURE?

That is a real shame but sorry JM, as much as I love your products (and I do), I won’t be
buying that anymore and will just stick to the perfume thanks.

I have no idea how much money goes into the development and marketing of these scents – of course truck loads and all so that suckers like me will buy them because I love the smell!

There’s one born every minute – yep, and that one is me!

Before I go, I just want to have a quick chat about travel candles.  Can anyone tell me why you would want to go to the trouble of buying a scented candle to take away with you?  Is it absolutely necessary to do that?

I’ve read the advertising blurb that says that doing so will “Bring a little of your home
with you wherever you are”.  Well, if I was to do that I would also have to bring some dust, last night’s washing up and the laundry!  Not forgetting my cat.

To be honest, I would never bother going to all that trouble to find a nice candle, take it away with me and light the bloody thing whenever I was in the room, because I know that I would forget all about it only to discover it when I was back home unpacking.

And those candles are not cheap either!

4 thoughts on “Eau de How Much?

  1. parhaps you shouldent be such a matarialistc idiot and think about what the world is goin thru before you buy your crap perfume.

    • Tell me, was your comment posted via laptop/pc/iPad/iPhone? One thinks you should practice what you preach my dear.

  2. Everyone needs to treat themselves sometimes , whatever it may be doesn’t make you materialistic at all :)

Leave a Reply

