Tattoo me, part 1

This Friday 9th March, at five o’clock, I will be doing something that I have wanted to do for 30 years – yes, I am THAT old!

I am getting a tattoo.

As I said, I have wanted to do this for 30 years but have never got round to it.  Mainly because of the thought of the pain and the stigma that went with women getting tattoos, which by and large, has been eradicated over the years.

I revisited the idea seriously over the last year and I decided that I didn’t want my first tattoo to be a bird or a butterfly, because as beautiful as they can be, they hold no particular meaning for me and I want something that is personal and unique to me.

So, I started mucking about with drawings and thoughts and my first design would have meant having a large area like my back being the canvas as it was very detailed and would need that amount of space to get everything in!  This meant I had to scale it down to something that could fit nicely on my shoulder, for example.  However, I kept being drawn to being tattooed on my left inside wrist and that second option will not work there.  Amendment number three; scale the design down further to something that will fit nicely on the wrist.  I realise that my tattoo will be on show and the design might cause some controversy, but I am not bothered about that! This tattoo will represent my heritage and where I come from.

It is going to be black and shaded and part of me is very excited (at my age, go figure!) and part of me is nervous that I am taking a step to do something that cannot be reversed.  And even in this day and age, where tattoos are so much more acceptable, I still feel like I am tapping into my latent punk rebel, inner self, and perhaps that is what excites me more!

The tattoo parlour have a very crude drawing of mine to go on, and I look forward to seeing what the artist can do with that. I won’t describe my design here, but I will do a further post after I have had it done and there will be a picture attached.

Wish me luck!

2 thoughts on “Tattoo me, part 1

  1. Braver than I am,
    I like to see others with tatts on but they are not for me.

    Good luck I am sure it will be fab

    xxxxxxxx

    • Thanks love!

      I am nervous and excited and aware that it might be painful! Arrggh! Still, I have tinkered about with the design for a while now so hopefully they will turn my rough drawing into something fab!

      xxxxxx

Leave a Reply

