With one tweet…

Last night I felt like a rather seedy voyeur watching something terrible develop; unable to physically intervene but equally unable to stop reading the unfolding events.

Let me explain.

One of the people I follow tweeted about someone else, asking if anyone knew them because they were worried.  Curious as I am, I went to see the timeline and was horrified to read the tweets this person was posting as they attempted to end their life.

This person; so lonely, so desperate so…  I don’t know, so at the edge of the precipice and ready to fall over.  And it was their last tweet at just before 8pm “sluggish now…” that I found most upsetting.

Of course, the power of Twitter meant that retweets for help were fired off left, right and centre as people tried to find out the real identity of the account holder and their address so the police and paramedics/ambulance could get to them.

Luckily, when I checked this morning, they had been found and had been taken to hospital.

Good.

And I really, really hope that they get the help they so desperately need and the reassurance that they are not alone, that depression is not a weakness and that there is help out there.

Whether or not any non-Twitter people knew what was going on with them is neither here nor there.  On face value, it was one person tweeting so, you could say that Twitter saved their life which is a wonderful thing.  However, I want to ask this question, and please believe me when I say that I am not judging this person at all, I genuinely want to know.

If they had really wanted to commit suicide, would they have broadcast it on a powerful social networking site where their tweets would be seen and acted upon, or would they have just taken the pills and slipped away without anyone knowing what they were doing?

My thought is that they wanted to be found because despite them not wanting to carry on anymore and thinking their life to be worthless, tweeting live about what they were doing would get them to safety, which luckily it did.  However, I have never suffered from serious depression or other mental illness so I don’t know how I would feel in that situation, which is why I am asking.

Your thoughts please.

P.S. I have not forgotten the poor love who prompted me to write this post, and I wish them all the best and hope that they and all others suffering out there, find the comfort and solace they seek.

2 thoughts on “With one tweet…

  1. Oh gosh, what a sad tale – though as you point out, uplifting too in a strange way…

    To answer your question though… I think it’s generally understood that there are 2 kinds of suicide attempts – those which are a desperate, last ditch cry for help and those designed to ‘work’ without fail.

    For me, whether or not he or she ‘really meant is kind of irrelevant… The fact that they were so desperately low that they were prepared to risk it – and chose to broadcast their plight to a virtual audience – indicates someone who, though at rock bottom, still has some hope, some belief that their dis-ease can be alleviated. Like you, I wish them and others in a similar place, inner peace and love.

Leave a Reply

