Poppy

Today is Remembrance Sunday.

In the run up to today I have read quite a few bits and pieces and letters about this and it is the same thing every year: people not wanting to wear a red poppy because it promotes or glorifies war, people being made to feel guilty and therefore obliged to donate and wear a poppy, people moaning that they are happy to donate but don’t see why they should wear a poppy etc., etc.  The list of reasons/excuses for and against is endless.

Listen, the choice to donate, wear a poppy, remember this day is yours and yours alone, and I am certainly in no position to judge what you do, but here is my two-penneth worth.

I choose to donate to the Royal British Legion and wear a poppy and I am happy to do so.  To me, wearing a poppy is not a smug “look at me, I’m better than you because you aren’t wearing one!”, for me it is a way that I can remember both of my grandfathers who fought in WW1.  To me it is a way of remembering those who did not return home as well as those who did and who were and are scarred by their experiences.  To me, it is a way to do a little bit to support them and their families.

I certainly don’t like war, and my wearing the poppy does not glorify war, in my mind.  But I would say this, whether or not you agree with the whole thing, in the time it has taken me to write this and for you to bicker your way through the argument and put your point of view across, someone else has died.

As I said; just my two-penneth worth…

Leave a Reply

